INTERPRETATIONS
WORLD ARCHERY CONSTITUTION AND RULES

Book 4, Chapter 27, Article 27.2.4

A question was raised by the SwissArchery Association as to what is the meaning of a
“rebound” when applying the scoring rules set forth in Book 4, Chapter 27, Article
27.2.4. Specifically, the question asked was in the case of a rebound, must the arrow be
between the shooting peg and the target or can the arrow be behind the target? How is
an arrow scored if deflected?

The Constitution and Rules Committee finds the question presented to be within terms of
reference of the Judges Committee after consultation with the Field and 3D Archery
Committee. The Constitution and Rules Committee has determined that the following
interpretation of the Judges Committee is not contrary to the existing rules or Congress
decisions.

Response from the Judges Committee:

A rebound is where the arrow strikes the target and bounces back between the target and
the shooting peg (as opposed to glancing off the target). If the arrow glances off the
target (as opposed to rebounding off the target or pass-through), the arrow is scored as a
miss even if the arrow glancing off the target leaves a mark on the target. If the condition
of the 3D target causes a part of the 3D target to be shot off the figure causing the arrow
not to remain in the target, arrow may be scored as a pass-through under Article 27.2.4.

World Archery Judge Committee, November 24, 2016
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